Fall Fashion 2011 Brings Back A Trend… Stock Up on Your SOCKS Ladies!!

The 80’s/ Spice Girls of 2011

Hello, hello, hello ladies!! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.  We are staring off our week with a ridiculously daring look!!  Really… you need confidence to pull this off [and confidence is just the flip of a switch- anyone can have it if they just say I AM!!].

The Ankle Socks & Knee Highs-  

Oh man… I look back at pictures of the 80’s and think…. what ON EARTH were they thinking?!  Maybe it was the neon, or the huge hair, or maybe it WAS the ankle socks that just made me think, as far are REAL STREET FASHION goes, those looks should STAY in the 80’s…  But oh, are they coming back with more force than EVER!! While I was living in London in Fall 2010, London’s Fashion Week was going on and the buzz of style was in the air!!  Now… I have always had a passion for knee high socks… In fact, my elementary school friends remember me walking in the first day of 4th grade [when I came to my new school] because I had on my knee highs!!  And while I was living in London, it was cold!! So, out came my knee high socks…  And as it happened, Fashion Weeks all over the world sported designers like Prada, Christian Dior and Armani that incorporated socks matched with heels in their runways!!  

Now to this day I have been searching for a picture that someone took of me while I was walking out of London University towards my tube stop.  This lady saw me and asked if she could take a picture of me for LONDON’S STREET FASHION Website; I was wearing my knee high socks and very Top Shop ankle boots.  So I said yes, and all she asked me was my name- and spotting my accent, where I was from… And till this day I cannot find that picture!! Damn internet… what with being so frickin’ huge and all…

Fall Fashion of 2011 Has Trends Coming Back a Vengeance

I suppose since I have always been impartial towards knee highs, you’ll just have to see for yourself…. However, I have always been opposed towards ankle socks!!  SO you can take my word on that one!!  In fact, a couple months ago I was out shopping with a friend [us both being broke newly weds… we probably shouldn’t have been, ha] and I told her I wanted to buy some socks.  She started handing me socks from a bin that had patterns and frills on them, and I said that I was looking for a very specific look… She of course asked me why, and I told her I wanted to wear them with my heels and boots.  Haha, she looked so skeptical!!

And maybe you are too… Hey, this look doesn’t have to be for everyone- I’m just sharing my insights with you!! Socks are and will on goingly be the hot commodity for Fall/Winter/ and even Spring of 2011, the new in style look.  So, if you are having trouble visualizing this new trend… check out the photos below, they should help inspire you no matter what your look is- there is a style for EVERY genre!!

Whimsical Preppy- Fall Fashion 2011


Boho Babydoll- Fall Fashion 2011

Trendy Hippy– Fall Fashion 2011

Nautical Romance– Fall Fashion 2011

Mother Earth Chic– Fall Fashion 2011

Punk Victorian– Fall Fashion 2011

Fairytale Gaga– Fall Fashion 2011

A Polo Tea– Fall Fashion 2011

Grandpa’s Little Girl– Fall Fashion 2011

University Chic– Fall Fashion 2011

Mod Twist- Fall Fashion 2011

Z. Deschanel Copy Cat– Fall Fashion 2011

Tres Chic Wood Nymph– Fall Fashion 2011

Mod Grunge – Fall Fashion 2011

Scottish Reverence- Fall Fashion 2011

Sweet Innocence- Fall Fashion 2011

Le Parisian Elegance- Fall Fashion 2011

Bohemian Sophistication- Fall Fashion 2011

Californian Prepster- Fall Fashion 2011

NYC Classic- Fall Fashion 2011

LONDON Chic– Fall Fashion of 2010

This is me in Britain in Fall of 2010 sporting the knee highs!! Not such great pictures of me… Ha, but give me a break!! I had been walking around the city all day AFTER school!!!

And this is me in Fall 2011… STILL sporting the knee highs!! IF you are daring enough- have the confidence to try out this look!! You might be the only one sporting the socks, but that just means the rest of the world HAS NOT CAUGHT UP WITH YOU YET!!

One thought on “Fall Fashion 2011 Brings Back A Trend… Stock Up on Your SOCKS Ladies!!

  1. Love the look…now to find the confidence! ha! I don’t know why, but I have always liked the knee sock with boots look…I’ve gotta bring that out again. I also need to find a money tree for all the clothes I want!

Leave a Reply

