The Christmas 2011 DIY Advent Calendar [FREE Printables] & MY Christmas Miracle!!

Tis the Season :]

This year is Andrew and I’s first year of being married and as I’ve said many times before- funds are low!! It’s rare to see a newly wed couple who has all the income they need streaming in, and we of course are no exception.  SO, we had talked about it and and agreed that we weren’t going to be able to spend extra money on a Christmas tree and Holiday cards…

I knew it HAD to be done this way, but I am a decorator!! I’m imaginative!! I need outlets, and the holidays are perfect for just that!! So I Photoshopped us a holiday card and being eco friendly, just posted it on facebook & here.  One down.  Then I was at Trader Joe’s a week ago and saw these mini little Rosemary bushes that had been cut into Christmas tree shapes!! I picked up one of those for $6!! The house still didn’t seem very Christmasy… So I decided to make Cinnamon ornaments [TUTORIAL FOR THESE WILL BE OUT SOON!!] for our little Rosemary trees, and the house now smells AMAZINGLY like Christmas!! I then also thought that we could use an Advent Calendar, and so I DIYed that as well [TUTORIAL FOR THIS WILL BE OUT SOON!!].

Our little flat was coing along nicely when… my Dad decided that he and my mom were going to buy us a Christmas Tree!!!  He took me to Home-Depot and I picked out a 3 foot tree that is PERFECT for our little flat!!  ANNND I had completely forgot that Andrew’s family last year pulled out all of their Christmas decor that they weren’t using anymore [about a million homes worth] and all the kids got to riffle through it for whatever they wanted!!  We went to their parents home to pick up whatever we had previously picked out- and we have 5 boxes worth!!

Thank the Lord we have family who have made this holiday come to our home!!

Us in Morocco

Us after Andrew’s grandpa passed away & we were

recreating a picture of his grandparents in front of their car.

Our wedding day

Andrew in Europe for the first time- and in London no less!

Our first New Years Eve together and he had to work.

So when he came over around 11:30 I had decorated my room with

bunches of x-mas lights all around my room & I covered

a cherry-ball with them to be the NYC Ball :]

Our tree colour theme this year is comprised of golds, cremes, whites, and cranberry reds.

We’re so thankful for our Christmasy home!!

The DIY Cheap & Easy Advent Calendar

Apparently my husband had never heard of Advent calendars….  And so when he came home and I showed him- he had not a clue why I had strung up candy canes…

So for all of you unfamiliar with this Christmas tradition:

Advent Calendar:  a large card with a brightly coloured sometimes tinselled design on it that contains small numbered doors for children to open on each of the days of Advent, revealing pictures beneath them

And usually in the US we have chocolates behind the doors…  but and Advent Calendar is just a fun wat to count down the days of Christmas!!  So I decided a cheap way to do it, that is way more festive and decorative than a large card :]

DIY INSTRUCTIONS:

This is so easy- you really don’t need a step by step picture… So:

-Buy a box of candycanes

-have a piece of ribbon on hand, or I had 2 pieces of twine and 1 piece of bakers string [black and white] which I braided

-nail the ribbon or twine to the wall [not too tight because you want to create a dip]

-print out the mini cards on each candy cane [PRINTABLE & PRINTABLE]

-write out the remaining number of days till christmas [one day per card]

-hot glue the card to a candy cane & then hang the candy canes on the ribbon or braided twine!

-and print out the “ADVENT CALENDAR SIGN” [PRINTABLE] and print the sign below as well.

-Hot glue or double stick tape those signs to the wall & c’est fin!! Very easy, festive, and cost effective!!

One thought on “The Christmas 2011 DIY Advent Calendar [FREE Printables] & MY Christmas Miracle!!

  1. AHH! So cute! I love your photo ornaments! My hubby and I were just like you two on our first Christmas….making Christmas out of nothing but luckily with the help of friends and family we pulled it off and now we have a great collection of Christmas that I’ve been able to gather along the way. Your record box is freaking awesome! Btw – just a tip, if you are able, be sure to check out stores right after Christmas for super cheap decoration and more. I got a Christmas tree from Target last year that was priced at $200 for just $30!!!! Shopping stores for decoration after Christmas is how I’ve been able to stock up on all kinds of goodies for the next year and even better you’ll pack up your new finds (a little sad that you can deck the halls for another 12 months) but when you go to pull out your decorations you’ll be pleasantly surprised by the things you ‘forgot’ you scored!

Leave a Reply

